World Cultural and Natural Heritage

The 1972 UNESCO Convention for the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage establishes that certain places on Earth with an “outstanding universal value” belong to the common heritage of humanity. In other words, they have extraordinary cultural or natural importance that transcends borders and, as such, their wealth is a heritage that must be protected for future generations. The Convention is an effective tool that enables local communities to address contemporary challenges related to climate change, urban sprawl, mass tourism and natural disasters. Currently, Peru has 12 sites inscribed on the World Heritage List: Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu (1983), Cusco City (1983), Chavín Archaeological Site (1985), Huascarán National Park (1985), Chan Archaeological Zone Chan (1986), Manu National Park (1987), Historic Center of Lima (1988. 1991), National Park of the Abiseo River (1990, 1992), Lines and Geoglyphs of Nasca and Palpa (1994), Historic Center of the City de Arequipa (2000), Sacred City of Caral – Supe (2009), Qhapaq Ñan, Andean Road System (2014).

Locate us
Jr. Ucayali 391, Lima, Perú
[email protected]
Tuesday to Friday
10 am to 8 pm
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays
10 am to 6 pm
Free entry
Folow us

SEGIB’s support is appreciated

Copyright © 2020 Centro Cultural Inca Garcilaso. All rights reserved | Legal notice | Privacy policy | Cookies policy

Developed by E2 Consultores